Skip to content

In the Rough

refining artistic style, revealing facets of fellow creatives.

This sketch is  more literal than the previous. It says and shows exactly where my inspiration comes from– what I was doing, thinking and feeling. I’ve always enjoyed sketching what I see, from the mugs in front of me to the people around. This particular sketch, however, is more explosive than usual (to contrast a boring day at work).

As mentioned in Driving Forces, I spent this past summer in Colorado. One afternoon while perusing Barnes& Noble, I found myself in the Art section (it must be magnetized or something). I came across this book called An Illustrated Life: Drawing Inspiration from the Private Sketches of Artists, Illustrators and Designers by Danny Gregory, and fell in love. Not only are the sketches beautiful, but they are exciting–filled with color and new experiences. Through these sketches (and bits of writing), we get to walk through the artists’ day and step into their mind. This sketch is meant to do just that– give you a glimpse of my day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

